Community

A Marvin Gaye / Pink Floyd collaboration?

1 of 2 Pages

Detroit, MI

Has anyone ever heard of such an project?

From My Marvin Story from Harvesting Heritage

To the three people reading this, I figured I???d drop my first story. Here goes:

I was an Intern back in the late 1970???s and early ???80s at a UK-based label called Harvest Heritage Records. Basically, this label was a subsidiary of Harvest Records, who put out a lot of seminal music in what I would call the ???Classic Era??? of music.

Harvest Heritage basically handled reissues of the major Harvest releases as well as smaller releases in the 70???s and on.

Fast forward to a couple months ago. I was digging through my storage unit, rummaging through a lot of my old records from the Heritage days when I came across something that I realized had never seen the light of day.

Now, in the early 1980???s, Marvin Gaye had relocated from here in the states out to Belgium, which isn???t far from London. At the time he was separating from Motown. I believe he was touring out one of his last records with them, the ???In Our Lifetime??? record, maybe. At this time, Pink Floyd was wrapping up some extra tour dates for their The Wall Tour. They had a four day run at Earl???s Court (in London), and planned on getting a lot of footage for the Documentary that they later released.

It just so happened that Marvin was in town with an off day from his tour and stopped in during stage set-up and rehearsals. Apparently, something was worked out as to get him on stage performing with Pink Floyd. The next night at Earl???s Court, Marvin came out and performed ???Let???s Get it On??? over ???Shine on You Crazy Diamond???. I???ll never forget it.